Skip to Main Content

Monroe County

MCDS Hosts Members at Red Wings Game

MCDS hosted members, friends and family members at the Red Wings Game on August 11, 2023.

MCDS Presents Awards during MCC Pinning Ceremony

Dr. Todd Pedersen, Monroe County Dental Society President, and Ms. Becky Herman, Executive Director, presented two awards during Monroe Community College’s Dental Studies Program Pinning Ceremony held on May 24, 2023.  Two graduates received a certificate and monetary award: Ms. Tessa Cratsley for dental hygiene and Ms. Jaclyn Wegman for dental assisting.  Congratulations to these deserving students!

Dr. Isaac Kuyunov Joins MCDS Board of Directors

Dr. Isaac Kuyunov was sworn in as a Monroe County Dental Society Director by Board President, Dr. Todd Pedersen on May 22, 2023 during their last board meeting before the summer break. He will serve until December 2023 and is then eligible to run for a new three year term. Congratulations and welcome Dr. Kuyunov!

MCDS Hosts Dr. Alireza Sadr from UW

The Monroe County Dental Society held it’s Semi-Annual Meeting on Friday, April 28, 2023 at the RIT Inn & Conference Center. Dr. Alireza Sadr, Director of Operative Dentistry at the University of Washington, spoke on “Structural Adhesive Dental Restorations.” A special THANK YOU to our event sponsors: DDSMatch, ERC Applications, Gentle Wave, J&L Dental, M&T Bank, Straumann, Urgent Dental Care, Walsh Duffield, and ZimVie Dental. Featured in photo: L-R Drs. Todd Pedersen, MCDS President, Alireza Sadr, speaker, and Shyenne Pougher, MCDS Business Chair.

Careers In Dentistry Program is Back!

Careers in Dentistry Program Visits UB School of Dental Medicine 
The Monroe County Dental Society’s Careers in Dentistry Program traveled to the University of Buffalo’s School of Dental Medicine on March 31, 2023. Twenty-six students from area high schools and local universities, along with three district and county board members, met with UB dental students and faculty to learn about the dental program and tour the school.  This was the third event for the program this year.  Participants will meet back in Rochester at the District Office mid-April to hear from an oral surgeon.

Careers in Dentistry Kick-off Event
MCDS kicked off its Careers In Dentistry program on January 11, 2023 at the Seventh District Dental Society Office. High school and college students attended an informational session led by MCDS Board Members and program chairs, Drs. Taylor Squires and Katie Strong.

MCDS Holds Ortho/Pedo Night for Students Interested in Dentistry
The Monroe County Dental Society's Careers in Dentistry Program held its second event for high school and college students interested in learning more about dentistry on February 21, 2023. Students met at Comella Orthodontics in Rochester, after hours, to learn about orthodontics and pediatric dentistry. Dental professionals in these specialties showed students how to use an Itero intraoral scanner, 3D printer, and other orthodontic instruments. In March, students will travel to the University of Buffalo to tour the School of Dental Medicine and meet with current dental students and faculty.

2023 Monroe County Dental Society Board of Directors


Dr. Todd Pedersen

Dr. Michael Krzemien

Dr. Taylor Squires

Dr. Tim Abbamonte

Dr. Christopher Calnon

Past Presidents

Dr. Nathan Glasgow
Representative to 7th District Board of Directors

Dr. Timothy Calnon
Past President 2021


Dr. Antonio Calascibetta
Term ends 2023

Dr. James Roland
Term ends 2023

Dr. Shyenne Pougher (2023 Business Chair)
Term ends 2023

Vacant Director Position
Term ends 2023

Dr. Scott Koopman
Term ends 2024

Dr. Gerry Cellura
Term ends 2026

Dr. Steven Damelio
Term ends 2026

Dr. Katherine Strong
Term ends 2024

Dr. Joseph Quevedo
Term ends 2024

Dr. Robert J. Buhite II
Term ends 2022

Dr. Theresa Casper-Klock (NYSDA Trustee)
Term ends June 2025


Dr. Todd Pedersen, MCDS President
Installation of officers