Continuing Education Requirements for Licensure in NYS
New Dentists in First Year of Practice
Your residency program will count as 60 credits, however, you will still be responsible for taking the courses mandated by New York State before your license expires.
The NYSED will grant an adjustment to all licensees, regardless of registration renewal date, to utilize self-study for any coursework taken during the period from March 1, 2020 – January 31, 2023, provided that it is taken from a Department-approved provider and is in an acceptable subject area for the specific profession. Coursework taken outside that timeframe must meet the continuing education requirements in each individual profession’s laws and regulations.
New York State’s Mandatory Continuing Education law requires that a dentist obtain at least 60 credit hours of CE every 3 years. The New York State Education Department ultimately decides which courses qualify.
Requirements for each three year registration period:
- 60 continuing education credit hours for every 3 year registration period.
- New York State Mandated Ethics and Jurisprudence course (once in your lifetime)
- New York State Mandated Tobacco Cessation/Oral Cancer course (once in your lifetime)
- New York State Mandated Child abuse course (once in your lifetime)
- New York State Mandated Infection Control course (once every 4 years)
- CPR course: you must maintain a current certificate (varies 1-3 years). CPR must be taken in person.
Practice Management courses are not accepted by the State Education Department and cannot count towards the 60 credit total.
Dental Anesthesia and Sedation
Dentists must apply for a certificate with the New York State Education Department in order to administer general anesthesia, deep sedation or conscious sedation (parenteral or enteral route with or without inhalation agents) in their professional practice at locations other than general hospitals.
Mandatory Prescriber Education Guidance
Prescribers licensed under Title Eight of the Education Law in New York to treat humans and who have a DEA registration number to prescribe controlled substances, as well as medical residents who prescribe controlled substances under a facility DEA registration number, must complete at least three (3) hours of course work or training in pain management, palliative care, and addiction. The course work or training must be completed by July 1, 2017, and once every three years thereafter, pursuant to Public Health Law (PHL) §3309-a(3).
Anesthesia Practice Guidelines
Pursuant to Education Law § 6605-a and Commissioner’s regulations, only a provider with a Dental General Anesthesia certificate, can administer deep sedation or general anesthesia.
Patient Records and Retention
What records does my dentist maintain? Can anyone else get them?
Your patient record typically contains your case history, dental examination findings, x-ray films, lab findings, reports from other treatment professionals, and other treatment records. Your dentist must keep client records for six years or until the client turns 22, whichever is longer. Generally, your records are confidential unless you approve their release. Ask your professional about exceptions to this. If you want a copy of your records, provide your dentist with a written request. You may be charged a reasonable fee to offset the cost of providing copies.